Solo Trip to Chiang Mai – November 2011

After my 5 days in Hong Kong I got a flight to Bangkok and hadn’t planned my next step. I wasn’t meeting my boyfriend in KL for another 2 weeks but there were floods everywhere in Thailand and the trains weren’t running. I had quite a tight budget at this point as I wanted to be comfortable for my final two weeks and able to have more of a holiday budget than a backpacker one.

I decided to risk the budget and book a flight up to Chiang Mai. This was a very good decision as prices up north were very cheap and no sign of any flooding. My hostel was £6 a night for a private room with a very good fan and wifi – cheaper prices could be had but I was more than happy with this especially as I was lugging 1 large and 1 small suitcase around with me.

As it was difficult to meet other travellers in Hong Kong, I really appreciated being here where most people are travelling solo and it is so easy to strike up a conversation with people. Before long I had a friend who arranged to share my room with me taking the hostel down to £3 each per night! We also made friends with a couple staying in a hotel nearby and went around there for a cheeky swim one evening.

While I was in Chiang Mai I had a great cooking lesson with Smart Cook – we got to cook 5 dishes of our choice and got the train out to the school which was in a rural village. It was also the lantern festival which had such a happy atmosphere and coloured lanterns everywhere. I left my hostel a few days running thinking little kids were buying from a sweet stall before I eventually realised they were actually fireworks!

This is definitely the best place to head to on a limited budget, and it is also super safe for a solo female – I had no problems walking from the hostel in the Old City to the night market area on the nights I was by myself. There is also great Thai food everywhere and the prices are much cheaper than in Bangkok and Phuket.

About crazyblondechick

Travel. Food. Pretty Things. etc.
This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

