Malaysia: Kuala Lumpur – November 2011

After my two weeks in Chiang Mai I was off to meet my boyfriend in KL where we would have 2 weeks in Malaysia & Thailand before returning home. I hadn’t seen him since the end of August so it was nice to catch up even though we arrived to big storms in Kuala Lumpur. It felt great to finally be in a nice hotel ā€“ we stayed at the Pacific Regency all suite hotel near the Petronas Towers.

Overall I didn’t rate Kuala Lumpur that much, in comparison to all the other Asian cities I have visited it was definitely my least favourite. I felt like it was more unsafe and I wasn’t able to completely relax. My favourite part was definitely the towers, they are huge and very impressive. You can be very creative with the photos you take here. The adjoining mall also had good food options, and there were plenty of shops if a little high end.

 

The Bukit Bintang area was the best for shopping, and as it was nearly Christmas they had pulled out all the stops with the decorations, I felt like they had tried harder than most cities in the UK tend to. Overall there was something about the city that just didn’t feel right ā€“ there wasn’t any culture coming through and it all felt a bit mismatched.

An interesting fact – we saw one of Obama’s planes when we left the airport – I don’t think it was the main one but I spied it from across the runway. It’s a shame about the weather as I may have been able to get a better picture if it wasn’t so gloomy outside!

I’m not sure if I would return to KL, but this definitely hasn’t put me off Malaysia ā€“ I saw a completely different side to the country when we left for Langkawi.

About crazyblondechick

Travel. Food. Pretty Things. etc.
This entry was posted in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

